The Sedona Method

Knowing when to let go and when to hold is important as both these processes are crucial for us to enjoy life. This can be applied to our emotions also.

You can suppress or express your emotions. You can release them as well. As you start releasing your emotions-

Apathy, Grief, Fear, Lust, Anger, Pride(AGFLAP)
changes into
Courageousness, Acceptance and Peace.(CAP).

The ways of releasing your feelings are:

Let them go
Welcome the feeling( Could you allow yourself to feel?)
Dive into the core of the feeling( Could you allow yourself to dive into the feeling, deeper and deeper?)

How to let go

Step 1. Focus on an issue or feelings at the present moment
Step 2. Ask: Could I-let this feeling go? – welcome this feeling? – allow this feeling to be here?
Step 3. Irrespective of whether you answered “yes” or “no” to the above question, Ask:
Am I willing to let go? if “no” ask- Would I rather have this feeling, or would I rather be free? If no-go to Step 4.
Step 4. Ask: When?
Step 5. Repeat this process as often as needed unless you get rid of the feeling.

Feelings lie. They accumulate in our subconscious and decrease our productivity.Releasing them frees us from emotional baggage and we function in a clearer way.

Some things that will help you to release:

1. Do not think: I suffer, therefore I am
2. Do not keep talking about your problems
3. Do not feel special for having problems
4. Do not ask: Why am I having this problem?
5. Do not rush past life. Enjoy the moment.

Look for the freedom that is here and now: visually, auditorily, kinesthetically: see, sense and hear what is NOW.

Freedom is our innate state. Emotions prevent this-

1. Apathy: We feel as if desire is dead and it is of no use
2. Grief: We want somebody to help us because we can’t do it. We cry out in pain.
3. Fear: We want to strike out, but we don’t because we think the risk is too great.
4. Lust: We desire possession. We are wanting. But we have hesitation.
5. Anger: We desire to strike out to hurt and stop others, but with hesitation.
6. Pride: We want to maintain the status quo. We are unwilling to change or move.
7. Courageousness: We have the willingness to act without hesitation.
8. Acceptance: We have and enjoy everything as it is.
9. Peace: We feel whole, complete and total.

You are none of these feelings. Let them go and freedom is yours.

Release resistance:
Do what you do, and don’t do what you don’t do.

There are four basic wants:

1. Wanting to control
2. Wanting approval/love
3. Wanting security/survival/wanting to die
4. Wanting to be separate/one

Getting free from these wants means you are free.

The imaginary tree of limitations:

Roots: Four basic wants
Branches: Nine emotions
Leaves: Thoughts, feelings

When setting goals it is important to be hootless: you do not give a hoot whether you achieve a particular goal or not. Release your feelings about goals.

Goal setting

1. Phrase your goal in the Now as if it is already achieved.
2. Positive
3. Realistic and right for you
4. Include yourself
5. Precise and concise: one goal per statement
6. Specific but not limiting
7. Don’t use the word “want”
8. The goal should not build wanting approval, control, security or separation.
9. End result, not the means of achieving it.
10. Relates to courage, acceptance or peace

Release the feelings you have about the goal and the action steps you need to take to achieve the goal.

Clean up procedure:

Interaction with another person: Ask whether he/ you= control, approval, challenge. Grant him to be as he is. Ask for a feeling of trust,well being and safety for the person.

There are three aspects of the mind:

1. I sense
2. Discriminator: the lens thro which we see the world( can be affected)
3. Program aspects: Belief systems, sensing recording, replaying

The Sedona method can help us release our programs to function better. Use it in all aspects of life, not only feelings and you will feel better.


One thought on “The Sedona Method

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s