Eight Grades Of Charity

1. To give reluctantly.

2. To give cheerfully, but not adequately.

3. To give cheerfully and adequately, but only after being asked.

4. To give cheerfully, adequately, and of your own free will, but to put it in the recipient’s hand in such a way as to make him feel lesser.

5. To let the recipient know who the donor is, but not the reverse.

6. To know who is receiving your charity but to remain anonymous to him.

7. To have neither the donor nor the recipient be aware of the other’s identity.

8. To dispense with charity altogether, by enabling your fellow humans to have the wherewithal to earn their own living.

– Moses Maimonides


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s